Clean (Part 1)

When watching other people clean, I have a deep sense of my own lack of domesticity. HK came over today to do her first cleaning. I was impressed with her easy movements and attention to detail – like cleaning was this relaxing thing that you could do with grace and style. Hm. Go figure.

It’s not that I don’t appreciate a tidy environment, but it seems to take so much additional effort to maintain that state that it seems both unprofitable and unrewarding.

On the recommendation of a friend, I recently purchased the audio version of Marie Kondo’s book, “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up.” WC said that she really responded to the emotional promise of having an uncluttered environment, and I seem to be moving tentatively towards Minimalism, and an uncluttered tradition, so I thought I’d give it a try.

WC was right.

In fact, I also stopped listening to the book so that I could spend some time visualizing an uncluttered space, and the relaxed and uncluttered life that is supposed to go with it.

I’m not holding my breath, but it’s worth a try. I’ll let you know how it goes.

